Select Page

Parishes and Taxes

Income Taxes

The Church is generally exempt from the payment of taxes on its income. Contributions to the Church are deductible from taxable income to the extent allowed under law. An Internal Revenue Service exemption under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code dated 3/23/42 covers all Episcopal Churches. You may obtain a copy of the 501(c)(3) exemption letter from the controller’s office (see right sidebar for contact information).

Sales Taxes

An exemption from the payment of sales tax to New York State, New York City, or any other locality should be obtained by each congregation from the appropriate taxing authorities.

Real Property Taxes

The New York State Constitution exempts “property used for religious purposes” from the payment of real property tax, but the State requires an annual reporting on purpose and use to the local tax assessor. The burden of this reporting is on the holder of the exemption. If a congregation does not receive the relevant forms each year, it should request them from the local tax assessor.

“User Fee” Taxes

A congregation may or may not be exempt from the payment of certain taxes on the use of water, sewers, etc. Ask your local authority.

Finance and Administration Contacts

Ms. Esslie Hughes
Chief of Finance and Operations

Telephone: 212-316-7409
Fax: 212-316-7481

Ms. Masiel Jordan

Telephone: 212.316.7451
Fax: 646.923.9710

Ms. Chontel Simmons
Director of Human Resources

Telephone: 212.316.7503

Ms. Karin Almquist
Accounting Manager

Telephone: 212-316-7534

Ms. Michele Kearney
Executive Director, DIT

Telephone: 212-932-7312
Fax: 212-316-7405

Ms. Sara Saavedra
Convention Officer, Assistant Secretary of Convention, Diocesan Benefits Coordinator, Secretary to the Standing Committee

Telephone: 212-316-7423
Fax: 212-316-7420

Ms. Mildney (Mai) Dal
Senior Accountant

Telephone: 212-316-7434
Fax: 212-932-7328

Ms. Charmagne Castillo
Staff Accountant

Telephone: 212-316-7435
Fax: 212-932-7328

Ms. Audrey Cousin
Junior Accountant

Telephone: 212-316-7479
Fax: 212-932-7328

Ms. Gloria Fitzgerald
Director of Office Services

Telephone: 212-316-7422
Fax: 212-316-7405

Mr. José Henao

Telephone: 212-316-7417
Fax: 212-316-7405

Mr. Andrew Gary
Assistant to the Chief of Finance and Operations, Communications & Editorial Assistant, Safeguarding Online Manager

Telephone: 212-932-7322
Fax: 212-932-7323

Files and Downloads