Select Page



Our Bishops

 

Bishop Dietsche

The Rt. Rev. Andrew M.L. Dietsche, Bishop of New York

The Rt. Rev. Allen K. Shin, Bishop Suffragan

The Rt. Rev. Allen K. Shin, Bishop Suffragan

Bishop Glasspool portrait

The Rt. Rev. Mary D. Glasspool, Assistant Bishop

The Episcopal Church takes its name from the Greek word episcopos, meaning overseer or governor.

Theologically, Bishops are considered to be successors to the Apostles. Bishops, therefore, have the two-fold responsibility for the apostolic mission of the Church and for the oversight of that mission within a given geographic area, the Diocese.

The bishops, who in the Episcopal Church (unlike elsewhere in the Anglican Communion) are elected by the clergy and laity of the Diocese, are members of the House of Bishops of the Episcopal Church in the United States of America. Bishops confer Holy Orders upon deacons, priests, and other bishops, and administer the rite of Confirmation in addition to the usual priestly services. They visit the congregations, meet with the clergy, administer Confirmation, and preach the Word.

Find out more about the Bishops of the Episcopal Diocese of New York – Bishop Andrew M.L. Dietsche, Bishop Suffragan Allen K. Shin and Bishop Assistant Mary D. Glasspool by clicking on their names or by using the links on the left.

test

Bishop's Office Contacts

The Rt. Rev. Andrew M.L. Dietsche
Bishop of New York

Telephone: 212-316-7413
Fax: 212-932-7318
bpdietsche@dioceseny.org

The Rt. Rev. Allen K. Shin
Bishop Suffragan

Telephone: 212-316-7465
Fax: 212-316-7405
bpshin@dioceseny.org

The Rt. Rev. Mary D. Glasspool
Bishop Assistant

Telephone: 212-316-7442
bpglasspool@dioceseny.org

The Rev. Canon K. Jeanne Person
Canon for Pastoral Care

Telephone: 212-932-7355
Fax: 212-932-7368
jperson@dioceseny.org

The Rev. Nora Smith
Director of Strategic Programs, Intake Officer

Telephone: 917-319-3959
nsmith@dioceseny.org

Ms. Melissa Lopez-Sanchez
Executive Assistant to Bishop Dietsche

Telephone: 212-316-7413
Fax: 212-932-7318
mlopez-sanchez@dioceseny.org

Ms. Michelle Chang
Executive Assistant to the Bishop Suffragan and the Assistant Bishop

Telephone: 212-316-7484
Fax: 212-316-7405
mchang@dioceseny.org

Ms. Arlene Bullard
Bishop Dietsche’s Assistant for Special Projects & Assistant to the Canon to the Ordinary

Telephone: 212-932-7363
Fax: 212-932-7318
abullard@dioceseny.org

Menu

admin-qls